Author Topic: Age of Empires 2  (Read 1860 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LordNecross

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
  • Gender: Male
  • The Pariah
  • Respect: +46
    • SenHai
    • Sen Hai
    • SenHai
    • View Profile
Age of Empires 2
« on: May 22, 2012, 04:43:12 PM »
0
Hey I recently acquired one of my favorite RTS's of possibly all time, and was wondering if you all have it, and maybe want to play sometime, of course there are troubles with it, but I hear using Hamachi can help with Multiplayer problems.

So  any one interested?  or have any fond memories of this game?

Offline LordNecross

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
  • Gender: Male
  • The Pariah
  • Respect: +46
    • SenHai
    • Sen Hai
    • SenHai
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 04:58:33 PM »
0
Apparently I still need to figure out how to get it to work. so this is currently wip.

Offline mikethor007

  • Brewmaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4562
  • Gender: Male
  • Norse God of Thunder
  • Respect: +65
    • mikethor007
    • KlausBR2008
    • mikethor007
    • mikethor007
    • mikethor009
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 05:24:15 PM »
0
I had this game at one time, dunno where the disks are though. I even had the expansions.
"A toaster is just a death ray with a smaller power supply!"
Toaster

"gently-carressing clouds, sometimes they evaporate."
Forum poster somewhere on the internet

Offline wisekill1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1860
  • Gender: Male
  • Random penguins are cool!
  • Respect: +22
    • wisekill1
    • wisekill1
    • wisseify
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 05:53:04 PM »
0
I still have the disk, it's a old game...
...
...
...
Boo!

Offline LordNecross

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
  • Gender: Male
  • The Pariah
  • Respect: +46
    • SenHai
    • Sen Hai
    • SenHai
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2012, 06:01:40 PM »
0
I still have the disk, it's a old game...
Still a great game! :D

Offline wisekill1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1860
  • Gender: Male
  • Random penguins are cool!
  • Respect: +22
    • wisekill1
    • wisekill1
    • wisseify
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2012, 07:32:16 PM »
0
Still a great game! :D

Yes it is, good old memories. I think it's one of the first games I ever owned.

I recently bought Age of Empires 3 on steam, it's decent but I still prefer AoE 2
...
...
...
Boo!

Offline SirEmilCrane

  • Sword Arm of the forum Staff
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • Gender: Male
  • We're watching you...
  • Respect: +28
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2012, 08:47:30 PM »
0
I have it installed on my comp, unfortunately the graphics are borked for whatever reason, but it plays fine, its just that the ground is green and red instead of green, looks like everyone is fighting in a poppy field
...scum.

Offline LordNecross

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
  • Gender: Male
  • The Pariah
  • Respect: +46
    • SenHai
    • Sen Hai
    • SenHai
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2012, 08:49:11 PM »
0
I have it installed on my comp, unfortunately the graphics are borked for whatever reason, but it plays fine, its just that the ground is green and red instead of green, looks like everyone is fighting in a poppy field
Yeah, still figuring out how to get it to work, it just crashes. However thats what i get for trying to emulate it.

Offline Deadeas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Gender: Male
  • gently-carress you.
  • Respect: +8
    • Deadeas
    • Deadeas
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2012, 04:32:17 PM »
0
God, I love AoE2. Best RTS ever.

Also, for those with graphics problems, try running without Windows Aero on. Tends to cause problems, had the same issue with StarCraft and Fallout.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2012, 04:39:11 PM by Deadeas »

Offline LordNecross

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
  • Gender: Male
  • The Pariah
  • Respect: +46
    • SenHai
    • Sen Hai
    • SenHai
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2012, 04:56:02 PM »
0
Well I managed to get it to work, and I have the Expansion that gives the mayans and such or whatever, but I don't know if I will be able to get that one to work considering how it was acquired. :P

Offline LordNecross

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
  • Gender: Male
  • The Pariah
  • Respect: +46
    • SenHai
    • Sen Hai
    • SenHai
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2012, 05:19:47 AM »
0
well I would to at least like to try a game of the original AOE 2 so if you have hamachi maybe we could play a LAN game using it.

Offline SirEmilCrane

  • Sword Arm of the forum Staff
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • Gender: Male
  • We're watching you...
  • Respect: +28
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2012, 10:09:47 AM »
0
God, I love AoE2. Best RTS ever.

Also, for those with graphics problems, try running without Windows Aero on. Tends to cause problems, had the same issue with StarCraft and Fallout.

I hate to sound noob but whats windows Aero?
...scum.

Offline mikethor007

  • Brewmaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4562
  • Gender: Male
  • Norse God of Thunder
  • Respect: +65
    • mikethor007
    • KlausBR2008
    • mikethor007
    • mikethor007
    • mikethor009
    • View Profile
Re: Age of Empires 2
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2012, 01:26:42 PM »
0
I hate to sound noob but whats windows Aero?
The part of Windows that gives its window borders and such its "glassy" and transparent look.
"A toaster is just a death ray with a smaller power supply!"
Toaster

"gently-carressing clouds, sometimes they evaporate."
Forum poster somewhere on the internet